skip to main content

Red Letter Day are a British punk rock band formed in Portsmouth in 1984.

Red Letter Day

Follow on


Formed in 1983, in the English south coast navy city of Portsmouth, RLD’s original line-up was Ade Oakley (vocals, guitar), Ian Campbell (lead guitar), Pete White (bass) and Brian Lee (drums).

Nine months and two demos later, the band re-emerged as Ade joined by Daryn Price (drums), Keith Metcalfe (bass) and Davie Egan (guitar) and the self-financed single March 1986’s Wherever You May Run soon found favour with legendary BBC disc jockey John Peel who secured a session for them on his show.

They soon signed on with Quiet Records and released the 12-inch EP – Released Emotions. Metcalfe was replaced by a temporary bass player before Steve (ex-Original Mirrors) took over on bass.

The highlight of 1987 was a support slot at Belgium’s Polderock Festival alongside the Mission, Primitives and Sonic Youth. Now on the Released Emotions label, they recorded a joint album with the Sect, titled Soft Lights And Loud Guitars, which attracted good reviews. Ade and the boys also appeared on the Link Records sampler Underground Rockers, alongside other similar bands such as Mega City Four and the Price.

Egan left shortly afterwards, to be replaced by their current guitarist Ray and after a double a-sided single they completed work on their first full album, More Songs About Love And War, featuring material in a rockier vein. Critically acclaimed Sounds said: “If you like The Clash you’ll like this” and Big Takeover mused: “Classic punk that doesn’t sound at all dated or nostalgic. Terrific LP!”

Two further albums followed with Ank Records in the 90’s, Nothing At This Moment In Time (1994) and Lethal (1998) before the band’s 2000 signing to America’s Zip Records who released a “best of” album “Chance Meeting” (with sleeve notes by none other than punk legend Charlie Harper) and the “Nettle” EP in 2003.

In 2001, long standing guitarist and bassist “Razor” and “Wolfie”, were replaced by Chris Perrin and Steve Marsh respectively and this line up recorded and released the album “Everything Matters”. Not long after this release, Steve and later Chris left to be replaced by Lisa and Pablo.

Further brief line-up changes followed but the band went into hibernation in 2009.


Our Stuff